Swan Cream Puffs

IMG_0117_zpscfb509d4.JPG

Cream puffs are perfect for any occasions such as birthdays, anniversaries, Valentine’s Day, Christmas, and the list goes on.

I decided to make cream puffs for the past Mother’s Day. I have browsed many recipes to see which filling recipe sounds the most appealing. The amount of options were quite overwhelming for my tiny brain. Cream puffs can be filled with but not limited to whipped cream, chocolate ganache, and a variety of flavoured cream.

I’ve noticed that all of the recipe’s batches are quite small, so for my first attempt, I decided to double the batch to double the quantity. Brilliant idea right? If you guessed right, it was a complete disaster.

The temperature was too hot when I was adding the flour. That, or I decided to sift the flour slowly into the hot butter batter. The flour would not mix in smoothly, leading to many lumps and bumps in the batter.

Scrap that, start again. Followed the recipe thoroughly and ta-da!

IMG_0116_zpsa9f5dc4b.JPG

A tip, when piping the swan’s head and neck, you do not have to exaggerate the head by piping out more batter. I learnt my lesson when the heads turned out to be a large circle that resembles a big pimple. Yeah, gross. I ended up flipping the necks around, so the bottom of the necks were used as the heads.

Just keep swimming.

IMG_0105_zps63086c74.JPG

Yield: 12 Pastries

Ingredients
Choux Pastry:
1/2 cup unsalted butter
1 cup water
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp sugar
1 cup all-purpose flour
4 large eggs
Pastry Cream:
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup flour
1/4 tsp salt
2 cups milk
3 egg yolks, beaten
2 tbs butter
1 1/2 tsp  vanilla extract
1/2 cup whipping cream or heavy cream
Head over to Barbara Bakes for the procedures.
Leave a Reply

